Welcome to our Syma Forum - Please click on topics to view comments.You have to be a member to post-Free to join. Enter correct email as password will be emailed to you- All Syma Helicopter help and advice here. NEW- you can now change color of forum, bottom of page!

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

No permission to create posts
sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_Related Related Topics sp_TopicIcon
Syma X1 UFO 4CH RC Quadcopter RTF-New
Just released,review on the way
Avatar
Syma Freak
Admin
August 30, 2012 - 5:40 pm
Member Since: November 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 1432
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Syma quadcopter Syma X1 UFO 4CH RC Quadcopter RTF, told you it was coming!! links here to Amazon-I like the battery connection better than the Blade Mqx and the Wiltoy quad,,Review soonSurprised

Battery super Store has them on Amazon-Always Genuine

 

Image Enlarger

Some Specs

Product Overview
1) 3D flips!
Stabilty and agility in flight simplify professional 3D maneuvers like pirouettes 3D fun flips,rolls,and more.
2) 2.4GHz Radio control
By using of the 2.4GHz spread spectrum technology,the model has the characteristics of long control distance,strong anti-interference ability,small power consumption and rapid response.
3) 3-Axis
The latest 3-axis flight control system,with adjustable gyro sensitivity,permits super stable flight.
4) 3D Full flight
Up, Down, Left, Right, Forward, Backward, Leftward flight, Rightward flight.

Features:
3 way precision controller: up/down, left/right, forward/backward
Speed up mode
360° Eversion
Two Fly Mode:Indoor/Outdoor
Built-in three axis Gyro

Includes:
1x 4CH 3-axis quadcopter
1x 2.4G LCD remote
1x 3.7v 350mAh lipo battery (builted-in quadcopter)
1x USB Charger
2x Main blades A
2x Main blades B
1x English Manual

Specification:
Product Battery: 3.7V/350mAh Li-po
Charging time: About 40 Minutes
Flying time: About 5-6 Minutes
Controlling distance: About 40 Meters
Frequency: 2.4G
Channel: 4 channels

"Fly like a butterfly sting like a Syma" http://syma107.com

Avatar
Widdog
Guest
Guests
August 30, 2012 - 9:17 pm

Well Syma Freak you called it correctly again. This Quad looks really cool. I can hardly wait for your review.

Avatar
CPD
Guest
Guests
August 31, 2012 - 12:13 am

Wow, I guess that makes the Syma the new cheapest quad on the market. The quastion is, how large is it really in practicality, and is it outdoors worthy. We'll have to wait for the review.

 

I'm suprised how they shoved that out the door so fast, yet it's been a year since the "release" of the s119g Huey, and I still have yet to see any for sale anywhere.

 

We'll just have to wait and see what happens with it, see if it's good or if it's annother case of getting what you paid for and a rush job in development. Wouldn't be the first thing Syma screwed up. Let's hope it's like annother s107g, and not annother 029g...

Avatar
JamDJ
Lancaster, PA, USA
Admin
August 31, 2012 - 1:30 pm
Member Since: February 14, 2012
Forum Posts: 255
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Looks like fun, but I probably won't get one. It just doesn't look

like a real helicopter. Good luck and safe flying to those of you

who get an X1!

Avatar
Syma Freak
Admin
October 19, 2012 - 6:44 pm
Member Since: November 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 1432
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I have nearly finished my X1 Review,this weekend,also I worked out a different battery mod,that will cost us cheaper for batteries..so stay positive.. the Syma X1 bumblebee is really neat to fly........Latest review http://syma107.com/syma-x1-ufo.....uadcopter/

"Fly like a butterfly sting like a Syma" http://syma107.com

Avatar
lew803
Guest
Guests
December 11, 2012 - 6:34 am

The Syma X1 is my first quad copter so there have been many,too many to count,crashes that should have destroyed any heli I have.When did you ever see a heli do catwheels?The X1 can do them in series,like four in a row,and you can not find one damaged part.This is not on concrete or asphalt.Plain old grass at lawn length.You can knock the board cover off and the battery is 4 feet away and there is still no damage.Astounding.For the price I have to say this would be a good one to start with.No I'm not with any company.I'm just an ordinary guy who lives in Ohio and who likes to explore new things.Wink

Avatar
pixxelpusher
Guest
Guests
December 14, 2012 - 2:43 pm

Hi, I've just purchased one of these after seeing all the cool clips online, however can't seem to get the thing working. Any advice?

I've tried putting the battery in first, flipping it over and then turning on the remote, wait for beeps, up / down the throttle, and the X1 just sits there flashing it's red light.

I've also tried turing the remote on first, wait for beeps, then putting the battery in, flip it over... but again red light continuously flashes and nothing else happens.

So what am I doing wrong?

Avatar
Syma Freak
Admin
December 14, 2012 - 4:28 pm
Member Since: November 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 1432
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi Pixxelpusher:Ok,first thing as stupid as it sounds are batteries in remote new? is the battery for the Syma quad fully charged? so let us say yes to those facts: Always turn remote on first and wait,then connect battery to X1-Place down flat on the floor as soon as you can,one tip as had a problem with one quad not a syma was to place remote on the floor after turned on then attach power to quad and place near remote and wait to bind.

How have you set up your remote-on easy mode first,also make sure throttle is not on when binding..if all fails-where did you buy from?

Take off canopy and check solder joints-but wait if you have just bought this,better not to fiddle with anything but get a return new one from who ever you purchased from--hope that helps-keep us posted--putting your post into the X1 topic SF

"Fly like a butterfly sting like a Syma" http://syma107.com

Avatar
pixxelpusher
Guest
Guests
December 15, 2012 - 1:11 am

SF yes it's good to cover all bases. All batteries were well charged (using eneloops in the remote), and followed your steps of remote on first then X1 battery and quick flip over to a level surface.

As in the chat I think it came down to lots of wireless devices in the room I was in. This included dual band wifi, digital tv, cordless phone (but 5.8ghz), mobile phones... I ended up turning off the wifi and moving to another part of the house up stairs. It then binded!! So for other's that's definitely something to test if you're having binding probs.

Putting the remote right next to the X1 sounds like a good tip, will keep it in mind.

Something that did happen though is the first time the X1 must have been on a slight lean when starting up, so the gyro's were set wrong and it kept flying backwards pulling to the right! I figured turing it all off and starting again might fix it, and it did, so have to make sure it definitely is on a flat surface when the X1 starts up.

The remote is on low speed for now and i've trimmed the throttle right down until I get used to it.

The question I have is can the remote be used in Mode 2? mine is in Mode 1 at the moment.

I bought from hobbywarehouse, got a great deal on their ebay page and the service was awesome, shipped express courier through aus air express and came the next day!

Avatar
D Lobo
Guest
Guests
January 13, 2013 - 1:29 pm

I took the wife and girls 6 & 8 to the AMA convention today and my youngest just had to have the X1 BumbleBee or she now calls it Beezy.

I had the same problems with start-up as described above. Take off and instant FF all the way the fence. No left, no back, no right, no drift. Just forward, quite quickly.

I did that about 6 times, that's how it got it's name.

Every time I would emergency stop at the fence line (about 80 feet away) and my girl would run after it, pick it up and say: Are you ok Beezy?

 

I assumed it was a binding issue and lucky for me the review posted here was the first link I clicked on.

 

In detail this is what worked for me.

Batteries fully charged in the transmitter.

Battery fully charged for the X1.

Slide the battery into the carriage of the X1 just to the point of contact so all it takes is a swift shove to make the final connection.

Get everything close together on a level surface.

Switch on the TX and as fast I can shove the battery all the way into the X1.

Quickly flip the X1 upright on a level surface and don't touch it.

Quickly push the throttle (Left Stick) all the way and back down again.

Don't touch the X1 yet.

Wait for the lights on the X1 to stop blinking.

Breath deep.

 

Slowly push the throttle up and i'll be damned if the little thing just rise right up, straight as an arrow.

Controls seemed normal after that and the kids love it.

For $35.00 I think it was a fantastic purchase.

 

I went along with it because I trust Syma after an old friend sent me a S107 for Christmas.

I had also purchased a S033G for my son and it was also very well put together and flew right out of the box.

I couldn't believe how stable that thing was and how much of a pounding it can take.

Avatar
Syma Freak
Admin
January 13, 2013 - 4:57 pm
Member Since: November 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 1432
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi DLobo- you are correct they are a lot of fun for the price-really it still amazes me how they can be built and sell for such a cheap price-now a old dude,but back in the 60's there was no way I could afford to get into the rc hobby-remember a remote was around $1800..now this hobby is cost wise doable for most.

You seem to have got the hang of "Beezy" down pat--I like the name ssig_cool2

"Fly like a butterfly sting like a Syma" http://syma107.com

Avatar
Syma Freak
Admin
January 13, 2013 - 5:10 pm
Member Since: November 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 1432
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

to select mode 2:
1.)Turn Off Transmitter
2.)HOLD Button A to the Right while the transmitter is Off
3.)While holding Button A, Turn Transmitter On (you will see in the LCD the mode has now changed from mode 1 to mode 2) then Release Button A

to go back to mode 1 again:
just do the steps again

mode2-x1.jpgImage Enlarger

sp_PlupAttachments Attachments

"Fly like a butterfly sting like a Syma" http://syma107.com

Avatar
pixxelpusher
Guest
Guests
January 17, 2013 - 8:35 pm

Thanks SF!!  I was looking all over the net for that bit of info!! Most people concluded that it didn't actually support both modes. I probably like most didn't realise you had to do it with the transmitter OFF first, I was pushing that little button in all directions to get it to work. I'll have to give it a go sometime and see which mode I prefer. Would be great to get some of these tips into a FAQ.

Have had a few flights now and still trying to get the hang of flying it. A few questions, is it normal for the quad to be erratic in the air? Sometimes it seems to have a mind of it's own and I have to be quite heavy on the controls. This is especially the case with the throttle as it seems to change altitude quite suddenly, sometimes even dropping right to ground level (even hitting the ground). I kind of thought it would hover more in one spot a bit easier, but mine seems to be rather all over the place at times.

 

 

 

to select mode 2:
1.)Turn Off Transmitter
2.)HOLD Button A to the Right while the transmitter is Off
3.)While holding Button A, Turn Transmitter On (you will see in the LCD the mode has now changed from mode 1 to mode 2) then Release Button A

to go back to mode 1 again:
just do the steps again

Avatar
oden
Guest
Guests
January 18, 2013 - 12:07 am

CPD said
Wow, I guess that makes the Syma the new cheapest quad on the market. The quastion is, how large is it really in practicality, and is it outdoors worthy. We'll have to wait for the review.

 

I'm suprised how they shoved that out the door so fast, yet it's been a year since the "release" of the s119g Huey, and I still have yet to see any for sale anywhere.

 

We'll just have to wait and see what happens with it, see if it's good or if it's annother case of getting what you paid for and a rush job in development. Wouldn't be the first thing Syma screwed up. Let's hope it's like annother s107g, and not annother 029g...

Hey CPD

if you were looking for the 119g http://www.symahelicopters.com has them on there site. think there out of stock but they will email u as soon as they get more.

 

Avatar
CPD
Guest
Guests
January 18, 2013 - 4:43 am

There's s119g's on amazon now, but go figure, they're EXPENSIVE. Well, checking again, they only have 8 of the orange ones, and they're still relatively expensive. They were a whoping $40 last I checked for the green ones, which is well out of my budget. If they produce more and they become popular enough that they come out with parts on ebay, I might have to look into the size of the shell and consider a s889g built from a s119g body with s800g innerds. Wait... the 800g is lighter than the 107 when you strip it down...

 

Who was it that did testing for how much an s107 could lift? Could you test the lifting weight of a s800g? Thanks. I might be onto something.

Avatar
lew803
Guest
Guests
January 25, 2013 - 10:09 am

I've run into a new problem, for me.I was flying and changed batteries and the second flight suddenly quit in mid air.When I went to rebind after recovery the receiver went through all of the proper sequence until the end of the binding process.At that point it continued to flash after showing it should be bound.Good battery,proper sequence,nothing worked.My question is:If I have to replace the board will it bind to the present tx.I tried it with the receiver for another quad of the same kind and it won't bind to it.It seems that they will only bind to the tx that came with the quad.All suggestions welcomed.sco_huhsign 

Avatar
Syma Freak
Admin
January 25, 2013 - 2:00 pm
Member Since: November 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 1432
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

lew803 said
I've run into a new problem, for me.I was flying and changed batteries and the second flight suddenly quit in mid air.When I went to rebind after recovery the receiver went through all of the proper sequence until the end of the binding process.At that point it continued to flash after showing it should be bound.Good battery,proper sequence,nothing worked.My question is:If I have to replace the board will it bind to the present tx.I tried it with the receiver for another quad of the same kind and it won't bind to it.It seems that they will only bind to the tx that came with the quad.All suggestions welcomed.sco_huhsign 

Did it get damaged when she fell out of the air on flight? It is unusual for a board to just not function- guess you have checked for solder joints broken..The board is not cheap around $16 - Here on RCFever board 

To purchase a new Quad is around $38 , not trying to put you off repairing your quad,but just watch what you spend on parts.Have you tried taking batteries out of remote, then replace them and like a computer reboot transmitter.If you buy a new board it should bind with old transmitter.Try binding using a few different things with remote,like having throttle on full then switch on transmitter then quad--just some times with other mini quads I have has worked binding messing with the remote--let us know how you go

 

"Fly like a butterfly sting like a Syma" http://syma107.com

Avatar
Supernova
Guest
Guests
January 27, 2013 - 2:48 am

Hay!!  SF you are a special Heli nerd,  perhaps I need to brush up on my stuff sco_huhsign missing this,  SORRY.

Avatar
lew803
Guest
Guests
January 27, 2013 - 2:51 am

Thanks,SF for the advice.Tried the suggestions.No joy.Looked for anything loose.Nothing.I'm wondering if a cover on the underside of the board could hold in too much heat in a prolonged flight.The temp was colder than usual and never had a problem before.Went ahead and ordered a new X1.As you said parts can add up.

 

Do you think the larger battery(600mAh)could produce enough heat on the board to affect a component.The sequence when binding was standard but at the end of the sequence the board went to no connection right away.Tried another tx ,same result.

 

Still going to fly all winter come snow(have lots now) or???.Really like your the plane on the video.Looks like it could glide. 

Avatar
lew803
Guest
Guests
January 28, 2013 - 7:10 am

Hi SF,

I finally found out what a lot of people know.To bind a tx to a quad of the same manufacturer and model(this is as far as I've gotten so far)you plug in the battery set it down Quickly and turn on the transmitter.This has worked on my Syma X1 with two tx's since I now have an extra.Only thing is ,you must rebind before you can fly using the original tx on the original quad.Does that sentence make sense?Anyhow,it works every time so maybe I didn't need to buy another quad.Your help set me on the right path.Thanks!sco_hmmthink

No permission to create posts
Forum Timezone: Australia/Sydney

Most Users Ever Online: 84

Currently Online:
2 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

MikeK: 178

SymaGuru: 32

nope: 5

groggy: 2

Shwan: 1

runawaytrim: 1

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 727

Members: 989

Moderators: 0

Admins: 2

Forum Stats:

Groups: 7

Forums: 15

Topics: 1272

Posts: 8171

Newest Members:

Wilsonhog, ErnestMot, DavidBlesy, melodyst4, polerSat, greged60

Administrators: Syma Freak: 1432, JamDJ: 255